List of Field marshals in Muslim Countries

The list excludes royal families


WWll in Colour-El-Alamein and Tunisia (between two Field marshals: Rommel and Montgomery)

In 1942 things were not going well for the British and Commonwealth forces in north Africa. In early August Winston Churchill replaced General Auchinleck as C-in-C Middle East with General Sir Harold Alexander. Lieutenant-General Gott was to take command of Eighth Army but was killed soon after being chosen, when the transport plane he was travelling in was shot down so Lieutenant-General Bernard Montgomery became Eighth Army commander. At the end of August Rommel attacked the El Alamein defensive line and was stopped at Alam el Halfa ridge. After six weeks of building up his forces in which the 8th army received 300 Sherman tanks Montgomery attacked with 220,000 men and 1100 tanks against 115,000 men and 559 tanks of Rommel's forces. A number of these tanks were poor Italian tanks which could not match the new Sherman's. The battle started on October 23with over 800 artillery guns firing at the German and Italian lines. by November 2nd 1942, Rommel knew that he was beaten. Hitler ordered the Afrika Korps to fight to the last but Rommel refused to carry out this order. On November 4th, Rommel started his retreat. 25,000 Germans and Italians had been killed or wounded in the battle and 13,000 Allied troops in the Eighth Army.

Field marshal is a very senior military rank, ordinarily senior to the general officer ranks. Usually it is the highest rank in an army, and when it is, few (if any) persons are appointed to it.

Promotion to the rank of field marshal in many countries historically required extraordinary military achievement by a general (a wartime victory).

I don't know if any of the listed below Field Marshals ever show any extraordinary military achievement!!!


2004 - Mohammed Fahim (b. 1957)


Abdel Hakim Amer (1919–1967)

November 1973 - Ahmad Ismail Ali (1917–1974)

Abdel Ghani el-Gamasy (1921–2003)

Fouad Zekry (1923–1983)

Ahmed Badawi (1927–1981)

Mohammed Aly Fahmy (1920–1999)

Abd al-Halim Abu Ghazala (1930–2008)

1991 - Mohamed Hussein Tantawi (b. 1935)

2014 - Abdel Fattah el-Sisi (b. 1954)


1965 - Kwame Nkrumah (1909–1972)


1945 - Sudirman (1916–1950)

1985 - Suharto (1921–2008)

2000 - Abdul Haris Nasution (1918–2000)


Abdul Salam Arif (1921–1966)

1979 - Saddam Hussein (1937–2006)


Habis al-Majali (1914–2001)

Fat'hi Abu Tale

Abdul Hafeth Al Ka'abnah

2005 - Sa'ad Khair (d.2009)


17 November 1970 - Mohammed ben Mizzian (1897–1975)


1965 - Ayub Khan (1907–1974)

Saudi Arabia

Saleh Al-Muhaya (b. 1939)


Gaafar Nimeiry (1930–2009)

Abdel Rahman Swar al-Dahab (b. 1934)

Omar al-Bashir (b. 1944)


Husni al-Za'im (1897–1949)

Bashar al-Assad (b. 1965)


1975 - Idi Amin (1928?–2003)


24 December 1997 - Ali Abdullah Saleh (b. 1942)

Yemen Arab Republic

Abdullah as-Sallal (1917–1994)